Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes
Auto Insurance Companies

Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

Drivers in Pennsylvania are required to have Pennsylvania auto insurance in place by law. They are required to carry proof of insurance at all times. Being stopped by a police officer without the required documentation can lead to serious consequences.

Consequences of Driving Without Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Coverage

Getting caught driving without insurance coverage in Pennsylvania means that the driver of the vehicle is subject to a $300 fine. Along with the monetary penalty, his or her driver's license will be suspended for three months. The vehicle's registration is also suspended for the same length of time. The vehicle is automatically impounded.

Once the suspension has been served, the driver will need to pay a fee to get his or her license reinstated. A fee is also levied to get the registration put back in place. During the time the vehicle's registration is suspended, no one can drive it. This means other drivers in the family who usually had access to the vehicle are unable to drive it.

Minimum Levels of Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Coverage

All Pennsylvania drivers must have at least $15,000 in bodily injury liability insurance in place to pay for injuries suffered by one person in an accident. A minimum of $30,000 in coverage is required for all victims of a single accident, no matter how many there were. Drivers in this state must also carry property damage insurance in the amount of $5,000. This coverage is used to pay for damage to the other vehicle, as well as other objects such as fences or mailboxes.

An additional $5,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is also a requirement in this state. This type of insurance pays for the driver's own injuries sustained in an accident. People who have good health insurance plans may opt to buy only the minimum level of coverage mandated by law, but in a situation where they don't have health insurance or their plan offers only limited benefits, a higher policy limit may be advisable.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is not required for Pennsylvania drivers. It's a good idea to have this type of protection in place, though. In a situation where the at-fault driver doesn't have insurance or doesn't have enough insurance to pay for medical bills and other expenses, the other driver is required to make up the difference him or herself. This may cause financial hardship and can be avoided by adding this valuable to coverage to a car insurance policy.

The law pertaining to minimum levels of insurance coverage also applies to rental cars. Most insurance policies issued in the state include rental cars, but it's a good idea to check the policy provisions to confirm this before renting a vehicle. Car insurance for rented vehicles can be bought from the rental company, if necessary, and this will add to the daily fee charged.

Credit History and Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

Pennsylvania car insurance companies can look at an applicant's personal credit history when determining the level of risk that individual presents and what rate they will charge him or her for coverage. When the time comes to renew an existing policy, Pennsylvania insurance companies cannot use the insured's personal credit history to determine rates.

There are other factors that an insurance company will consider when determining rates. A driver's age is one of them. Since less experienced drivers are more likely to be involved in accidents, they will be charged a higher rate than people who have more years of experience behind the wheel.

The make and model of the car you drive is also a factor when determining car insurance rates. If a vehicle is very expensive to repair, it will be more expensive to insure. Likewise, if a car is a favorite target for thieves, then it comes with a higher insurance bill. To find out how much a particular vehicle will cost to arrange coverage for, a consumer can contact an insurance company to ask the question before they decide to buy it.

A person's driving record is another factor that goes into the mix. Having a clean driving record will go a long way toward getting good rates for car insurance coverage in Pennsylvania. Being involved in one accident may not immediately lead to higher rates, but when there is more than one in a relatively short time, it could lead the insurance company to conclude that the driver behaves in an irresponsible manner.

Get Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Quotes!

To get an idea of the rates a driver in Pennsylvania would be charged for PA auto insurance coverage, a web site with a quote tool providing information from several companies would be helpful - just like the tool at the top of this page!

To find the best Pennsylvania auto insurance rates then simply enter your zip code above to get started comparing online Pennsylvania auto insurance quotes!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (855) 425-8122 for free quotes
Copyright © 2018 Pennsylvania Auto Insurance